Call Our HELPLINE: 1-800-4PD-INFO (473-4636)

Training Dates & Locations

The Edmond J. Safra Visiting Nurse Faculty program hosts several trainings each year at university-based movement disorder centers. Nurse faculty are selected through a competitive application process.

Trainings vary, but typically include two days of lectures, small group discussions, and workshops with Parkinson’s experts; two clinical days in a Parkinson’s center with mentorship by members of a multidisciplinary team; attendance at a support group; and a completion of a mentored independent project benefitting nursing education and/or patient care in Parkinson’s disease.

2018 Training Dates and Location

Thursday, May 10-Friday, May 11 - Toledo, Ohio

University of Toledo
Program Coordinator: Mary Scott, MSN, RN, FNP-BC

Monday, May 21-Tuesday, May 22 -  Towson, MD

Baltimore-Washington Area (Host Site – TBD)
Program Coordinator:  Susan Rebecca Dunlop, MS, RN

Monday, June 11- Thursday, June 14 – Boston, MA

Boston University

Program Coordinator: Cathi Thomas, MS, RN, CNRN

Tuesday, June 12-Wednesday, June 13 -  Minneapolis, MN

Struthers Parkinson’s Center
Program Coordinator: Joan Gardner, BSN, RN

Tuesday, October 16-Friday, October 19 - Birmingham, AL
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Program Coordinator:  Laura Lieb, MSN, RN, FNP

Thursday, October 25- Friday, October 26 - Phoenix, AZ
Muhammad Ali Parkinson’s Center

Program Coordinators:  Darolyn O’Donnell, MS, CTRS & Meg Lambert, BSN, RN

Thursday, October 31- Friday, November 1 - New York, NY

Weill Cornell Medicine: New York Presbyterian Hospital
Program Coordinator: Natalie Hellmers, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC

Please note: all trainings are four days in length. For training sites shown with only two days of training, the days listed include the didactic component only. A two-day clinical component is scheduled at the convenience of the host site and Scholar. Trainings listed as four days long have the clinical integrated into that time frame.

The activity has been submitted to the American Association of Neuroscience Nurses for approval to award contact hours. The American Association of Neuroscience Nurses is accredited as an approver of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

mail icon

Subscribe to get the latest news on treatments, research and other updates.